Training

Hammaborg has always had a very practical approach: An essential part of our training consists of freeplay and sparring. For that matter we use adequate body protection in conjunction with blunt steel swords. An elementary addition were the martial arts and sparring concepts of Axel Wagener and Heiko Lempio since 2000. Several Hammaborg members studied armed and un-armed martial arts techniques in their school.
The basis of the interpretation and reconstruction of efficient European martial arts are first of all the historical sources, the so-called fechtbücher. With the aid of these we develop the single techniques. The precondition for applying them practically however is an understanding of fundamental and universal martial arts concepts on which we emphasize deeply. We support this with practical exercises, e.g. cutting, striking and thrusting tests that are repeatetdly executed with sharp sword replicas in order to gain some insight into the functionality of real historical weapons. Attending seminars about fighting and fencing at home and abroad polishes our training nicely.

The internationally renowned Hammaborg instructors are invited regularly as trainers and instructors throughout Europe. It is possible of course to get into touch with us if you are interested in a special or private class.

Our exact training schedule can be seen below. Beginners can attend training each Friday. Training takes place in our hall, Hasselbrookstraße 35–37.

Anybody who wants to participate in one of our training sessions is kindly requested to get in contact with us in advance.

 

The Instructors

Dierk Hagedorn

Dierk Hagedorn

Dierk Hagedorn (*1966) started sport fencing aged ten. In 2003 he joined Hammaborg and is instructor for the longsword. He is a member of HEMAC, the Historical European Martial Arts Coalition, and he focusses on German manuscripts of the 14th and 15th century, particularly on the so-called Peter von Danzig manuscript. His transcription and translation into modern German of this important treatise has been published in print: "Peter von Danzig: Transkription und Übersetzung der Handschrift 44 A 8" (see literature list).

Falko Fritz

Falko Fritz

Falko Fritz (*1976) started historical fencing in 2007. He became a member of Hammaborg in 2008 and joins Dierk Hagedorn to international gatherings as a co-trainer since then. In addition to the long sword his main interest is the "langes Messer" (long knife), which includes the interpretation of the texts as well as technical aspects of sword construction. The langes Messer was introduced to the regular Hammaborg training in 2009. Falko Fritz is a member of HEMAC since 2011.

Roland Fuhrmann

Roland Fuhrmann

Roland Fuhrmann (*1977) started sports fencing in 1983. After he discovered Historical European Martial Arts in 2008 he became a Hammaborg member in January 2009. Since 2010 he focused his studies on fencing with sword and buckler according to the treatise I.33. Late in 2010 he moved to Toulouse, France and was co-founder of the HEMA association “Ost Du Griffon Noir”. There he was instructor for sword and buckler until his return to Hamburg in September 2014.

Roland taught classes on several international HEMA events and keeps himself up to date constantly as attendee of workshops and scholar of Roland Warzecha at Dimicator.

Roland is HEMAC member since 2011 and ambassador of the German Historical Fencing Federation (DDHF) since 2014.

Björn Rüther

Björn Rüther

Björn Rüther (*1978) started historical fencing at Hammaborg in 2011. As a co-instructor he has supported both the advanced students’ and the beginners’ longsword training since 2013. Apart from the Liechtenauer lineage from the 14th and 15th century his main focus is Joachim Meyer’s fencing from the Renaissance period in the late 16th century. Since early 2014 Björn Rüther has been the instructor for a longsword group that concentrates primarily on sparring.
Björn is member of the work team for tournaments and the education of referees in the German national parent organisation for HEMA, the Deutscher Dachverband Historischer Fechter (DDHF).

Thomas Rehm

Thomas Rehm

Thomas Rehm (*1981) started historical fencing in 2013 at Hammaborg. His main interest is the longsword in the tradition of master Liechtenauer. He is also experienced in fencing with sword and buckler according to the manuscript I.33 and Joachim Meyer’s longsword. Since 2014 he assists Falko as a co-instructor on Fridays and he has been the club’s secretary from 2013 until 2015. Since 2015 he holds the office as treasurer. One can find him in the training salle on Saturdays where he instructs the Liechtenauer class.

 

Time

Tuesday

Wednesday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

11:00

      Open training  

14:30

        Longsword: freeplay for advanced students

15:00

      End of training  

16:00

        End of training

18:30

    "Langes Messer"/ beginners    

19:00

Longsword Sword & buckler      

21:30

    End of training    

22:00

End of training End of training      

Contact

Dierk Hagedorn Roland Fuhrmann Falko Fritz   Björn Rüther

Training

Hammaborg hatte schon immer einen praxisorientierten Ansatz. Das heißt, daß Freikampf und Sparring eine zentrale Stellung in unserem Training einnehmen. Dabei verwenden wir in angemessener Schutzausrüstung stumpfe Stahlschwerter. Wegweisend für Kampfkunstkonzepte und Sparring war seit 2000 der Kontakt zu Axel Wagener und Heiko Lempio, in deren Schule einige Hammaborger bewaffnete wie auch waffenlose Kampfkünste trainierten.
Grundlage der Interpretation und Rekonstruktion einer effizienten europäischen Kampfkunst bilden zunächst historische Quellen, die sogenannten Fechtbücher. Aus diesen erarbeiten wir die einzelnen Techniken. Die Voraussetzung für die praktische Anwendung ist aber ein Verständnis der fundamentalen und universellen  Kampfkunstkonzepte, auf deren Vermittlung wir großen Wert legen. Dies ergänzen wir durch praxisnahe Übungen, wie z.B. Hieb-, Schnitt- und Stichübungen, die auch mit scharfen Schwertern durchgeführt werden, um ein Verständnis für die Wirkungsweise historischer Waffen zu entwickeln. Der Besuch von Seminaren und Trainingswochenenden bei befreundeten Fechtgruppen im In- und Ausland runden die Kampfausbildung ab.

Die international renommierten Hammaborg-Trainingsleiter werden regelmäßig als Trainer und Seminarleiter zu Veranstaltungen in ganz Europa eingeladen. Natürlich kann man bei Interesse an einem privaten Kurs über diese Website Kontakt aufnehmen.

Unsere genauen Trainingszeiten können der unten stehenden Tabelle entnommen werden. Einsteigern steht generell der Freitagstermin offen. Trainiert wird in unserer Halle in der Hasselbrookstraße 35–37.

An einem Probetraining Interessierte können sich gerne über die Kontaktseite melden.

 

Die Trainer

Dierk Hagedorn

Dierk Hagedorn

Dierk Hagedorn (*1966) hat im Alter von zehn Jahren mit dem Sportfechten begonnen. Im Jahr 2003 stieß er zu der Gruppe Hammaborg und ist dort Trainingsleiter für das lange Schwert. Er ist Mitglied der HEMAC, der Historical European Martial Arts Coalition und konzentriert sich auf die deutschen Handschriften des 14. und 15. Jahrhunderts. Über ein wichtiges Manuskript des 15. Jahrhunderts hat er ein Buch veröffentlicht: »Peter von Danzig: Transkription und Übersetzung der Handschrift 44 A 8« (siehe Literaturliste).

Falko Fritz

Falko Fritz

Falko Fritz (*1976) begann im Jahr 2007 mit dem historischen Fechten. Seit 2008 ist er bei Hammaborg aktiv und begleitet seitdem Dierk Hagedorn als Co-Trainer auf internationalen Veranstaltungen. Neben dem langen Schwert gilt sein Hauptinteresse dem langen Messer, was neben der Interpretation der Quellen auch die technischen Aspekte bei der Konstruktion von Fechtwaffen umfaßt. 2009 wurde das lange Messer in das reguläre Trainingsangebot bei Hammeborg aufgenommen. Falko Fritz ist seit 2011 Mitglied der HEMAC.

Roland Fuhrmann

Roland Fuhrmann

Roland Fuhrmann (*1977) begann im Jahr 1983 mit dem Sportfechten. Nachdem er das historische Fechten für sich entdeckt hat, wurde er im Januar 2009 Hammaborg Mitglied. Seit 2010 hat sich Roland auf das Bucklerfechten nach I.33 spezialisiert. Ende 2010 musste er berufsbedingt nach Toulouse, Frankreich und war dort Mitbegründer des Vereins »Ost Du Griffon Noir«. Dort unterrichtete er das Bucklerfechten bis zu seiner Rückkehr nach Hamburg im September 2014.

Roland fungierte bereits auf etlichen internationalen Veranstaltungen als Trainer und hält sich selber durch Seminarbesuche und Trainingsteilnahme bei Dimicator auf dem neuesten Stand.

Roland ist seit 2011 Mitglied der HEMAC und seit 2014 Botschafter des Deutschen Dachverbands Historischer Fechter (DDHF).

Björn Rüther

Björn Rüther

Björn Rüther (*1978) begann im Jahr 2011 mit dem historischen Fechten bei Hammaborg. Seit 2013 war er dort als Langschwert Co-Trainer aktiv und unterstütze sowohl das Haupttraining, als auch das Anfängertraining mit dem Langen Schwert. Neben der Liechtenauer-Tradition des 14. und 15. Jahrhunderts gilt sein Hauptinteresse dem renaissancezeitlichen Fechten Joachim Meyers aus dem späten 16. Jahrhundert. Seit Anfang 2014 leitet Björn Rüther eine sparringsorientierte Langschwertgruppe als Trainer.
Björn ist Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe für Turnierwesen und Schiedsrichterausbildung im Deutschen Dachverband Historischer Fechter (DDHF).

 

Uhrzeit

Dienstag

Mittwoch

Freitag

Samstag

Sonntag

11:00

      Freies Training  

14:30

        Langes Schwert: Freikampf Fortgeschrittene

15:00

      Trainingsende  

16:00

        Trainingsende

18:30

    Langes Messer/ Einsteiger    

19:00

Langes Schwert Schwert & Buckler      

21:30

    Trainingsende    

22:00

Trainingsende Trainingsende      

Ansprechpartner

Dierk Hagedorn Roland Fuhrmann Falko Fritz   Björn Rüther