Transcriptions | Glasgow: E.1939.65.341

Annotations

This is the transcription of a partially illustrated manuscript from 1508. The original with the number E.1939.65.341 belongs to the R. L. Scott Collection, Glasgow. Due to copyright restraints, I cannot show the according images, therefore this is a text-only version.

The manuscript

Like other manuscripts from a similar timeframe this one is a collection of various authors writing about various aspects of fencing. The present codex is remarkable insofar as it offers similarities to a number of manuscripts from the 15th century.

  • The text for the longsword in the version of Sigmund Emring is identical to the Sigmund Ringeck mansucript from Dresden (Mscr. Dresd. C 487) in most respects. Interestingly, Paulus Kal mentions on fol. 2r in his manuscript from Munich (Cgm 1507) a certain master Sigmund Amring as being a member of the Gesellschaft Liechtenauers (Liechtenauer's society). In the Ringeck manuscript the author is introduced as "Sigmund ain ringeck".
  • The additional longsword pieces appear also in the Ringeck manuscript. Here they are executed from "eiserne pforte" (iron gate), there from "nebenhut" (side guard).
  • The techniques of the second wrestling section from the Glasgow manuscript are similar to those by Andre Lignitzer from the manuscript 44 A 8 (so-called Peter von Danzig). However, here his name is not mentioned.
  • The techniques for the buckler specify Andre Lignitzer as the author, which is different from the Ringeck or the Jude Lew manuscripts (Augsburg, Cod. I 6 4° 3). These two codices do not mention a name at all.
  • Martin Siber's text about longsword fencing appear only in one other manuscript: Hans von Speyer (Salzburg, M.I.29).
  • The fighting techniqus of the other masters (»Andres Juden Jobs von der Nyssen Nicklass prewsñ Hans pfaffen Döbringers«) appear in a single other manuscript too: Cod. Hs. 3227a from Nuremberg. The Glasgow fechtbuch clarifies finally that the pfaffe (priest) Hans (or Hanko) Döbringer is only one master among others and by no means the author of 3227a, a misconception for quite some time.
  • Unlike most of the other manuscripts (3227a, Ringeck, Jude Lew, Hans von Speyer) the present codex features the so-called figures – brief passages in circles preceding Liechtenauer's fighting on horseback. Only the manuscript 44 A 8 shows them in circles too; and the Jude Lew manuscript places them in front in text only.
  • Different from the versions of Jude Lew or Hans von Speyer the Glasgow manuscript mentions Johannes Liechtenauer as the author of the kampffechten and the fighting on horseback sections.
  • The text about fighting on horseback is less extensive than in the codex 44 A 8 but more substantial than offered by Lew.

The fechtbuch from Glasgow is a compendium from various sources and provides connections to numerous additional fencing treatises but without following a single example. Earlier fechtbücher feature a diversity of segments that might have served as sources in order to create a completely new compilation.

The manuscript is partially illustrated, namely the two chapters about Johannes Liechtenauer's techniques with the longsword, following the edition of Sigmund Emring, and the first wrestling section of an anonymous author (two further wrestling sections remain without images). This is a particular speciality, since this manuscript is – until now – the earliest known illustrated version of Liechtenauer's teachings concerning the longsword. The so-called Goliath manuscript (Ms. Germ. Quart. 2020, Krakow from about 1510–1520) offers images too. It presents 38 in the longsword section whereas the Glaswegian manuscript only offers 31. However, the first leaves are missing which according to expectations and experience would have covered the techniques from the zornhau and the krumphau. The two illustrated parts show a significant difference in quality: The longsword section is quite colourful but only roughly drawn, the wrestling techniques are rendered with more anatomical detail but only in reds and yellows – with two exceptions. Rainer Leng has identified six illustrators in total.

The transcription

The transcription follows the original as closely as possible. I have not dissolved the letter "v" in either "u" or "v". Abbreviations, duplication characters or other special characters remain mostly intact - considering the restraints of internet typography. Frequently occuring signs above "u" or "w" that indicate either a distinction from "n" or usage as a vowel remain usually disregarded, occasionally the differences to other characters of distinction are rather subtle.

Due to bookbinding and cropping processes some minor parts of the text are missing. I have tried to fill in these gaps as good as possible in square brackets.

I am profoundly indebted to Jeffrey Hull. Without his substantial help and support this project would not have been possible. Thank you very much.

Source

Rainer Leng (compiler): Katalog der deutschsprachigen illustrierten Handschriften des Mittelalters, Band 4/2, Lieferung 1/2 – 38. Fecht- und Ringbücher. C. H. Beck’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, 2008

Dierk Hagedorn, July 2009

Johannes Liechtenauer / Sigmund Emring
Longsword

Longsword: further techniques

Martin Siber
Longsword

Messer fencing

Other Masters
Fighting techniques

Wrestling

Andre Lignitzer (?)
Wrestling

Jude Ott
Wrestling

Johannes Liechtenauer
Fighting on Horseback

Johannes Liechtenauer
Kampffechten

Martin Huntfelt (?)
Dagger

Dagger

Martin Huntfelt
Harness fighting

Andre Lignitzer
Buckler

Transkriptionen | Glasgow: E.1939.65.341

Anmerkungen

Dieses ist die Transkription einer zum Teil illustrierten Handschrift aus dem Jahr 1508. Das Original befindet sich unter der Bezeichnung E.1939.65.341 in der R. L. Scott Collection, Glasgow. Aus urheberrechtlichen Gründen ist es mir bedauerlicherweise nicht möglich, den Texten die entsprechenden Abbildungen beizugeben. Deshalb finden sich hier lediglich die Texte.

Die Handschrift

Die Handschrift ist wie andere Manuskripte des ähnlichen Zeitraums eine Sammlung unterschiedlicher Autoren zu unterschiedlichen Aspekten des Fechtens. Der vorliegende Codex ist insofern bemerkenswert, als er Ähnlichkeiten zu zahlreichen Handschriften des 15. Jahrhunderts aufweist:

  • Der Text zum langen Schwert in der Fassung Sigmund Emrings ist zum allergrößten mit derjenigen des Dresdner Sigmund-Ringeck-Manuskripts (Mscr. Dresd. C 487) identisch. Interessanterweise nennt Paulus Kal in der Münchner Handschrift Cgm 1507 auf fol. 2r einen Meister Sigmund Amring als der Gesellschaft Liechtenauers zugehörig, im Ringeck-Manuskript selbst wird der Autor als »Sigmund ain ringeck« vorgestellt.
  • Die weiteren Stücke zum langen Schwert erscheinen auch im Ringeck-Manuskript. Hier werden sie aus der eisernen Pforte, dort aus der Nebenhut gefochten.
  • Die Techniken der zweiten Ringen-Abteilung des Glasgower Manuskripts gleichen denen von Andre Lignitzer aus der Handschrift 44 A 8 (sog. Peter von Danzig), jedoch wird er hier nicht namentlich als Autor ausgewiesen.
  • Die Stücke mit dem Buckler jedoch nennen Lignitzer als Autor, anders als im Ringeck- oder auch im Jude-Lew-Manuskript (Augsburg, Cod. I 6 4° 3). Diese beiden Handschriften nennen explizit keinen Namen.
  • Martin Sibers Texte zum langen Schwert tauchen ansonsten lediglich bei Hans von Speyer (Salzburg, M.I.29) auf.
  • Auch die Gefechte anderer Meister (»Andres Juden Jobs von der Nyssen Nicklass prewsñ Hans pfaffen Döbringers«) erscheinen nur in einer einzigen weiteren Handschrift: Cod. Hs. 3227a aus Nürnberg. Durch das Glasgower Fechtbuch wird nun eindeutig klar, daß der Pfaffe Hans (oder Hanko) Döbringer nur ein Meister unter vielen war und daß somit weiterhin die Handschrift 3227a keinesfalls seine Urheberschaft beanspruchen kann.
  • Anders als in den meisten der übrigen Manuskripte (3227a, Ringeck, Jude Lew, Hans von Speyer) gehen in der vorliegenden Handschrift die sogenannten Figuren – kurze Texte in 26 Kreisen – dem Liechtenauerschen Roßfechten voran. Einzig die Handschrift 44 A 8 zeigt diese ebenfalls, das Lew-Manuskript immerhin stelt sie in Textform voran.
  • Anders als in den Fassungen des Juden Jew oder Hans von Speyers werden Kampf- und Roßfechten Johannes Liechtenauer zugeordnet.
  • Das Roßfechten ist weniger ausführlich als das in der Handschrift 44 A 8 aber umfangreicher als bei Ringeck und wiederum anders ausformuliert als beim Juden Lew.

Das Glasgower Fechtbuch stellt ein Kompendium aus zahlreichen Quellen dar und bietet Verbindungslinien zu diversen weiteren Fechthandschriften, ohne jedoch eindeutig ein einzelnes Vorbild zu haben. Aus früheren Fechtbüchern scheinen ganz unterschiedliche Abschnitte als Quelle zu dienen, um eine ganz neue Zusammenstellung zu kreieren.

Die Handschrift ist streckenweise illustriert. Es handelt sich dabei um zwei Kapitel: Johannes Liechtenauers Stücke im langen Schwert in der Fassung Sigmund Emrings und der erste Abschnitt eines anonymen Verfassers zum Ringen (zwei weitere Kapitel zum Ringen bleiben unillustriert). Dies stellt eine interessante Besonderheit dar, denn es ist die – bisher – früheste bekannte illustrierte Fassung von Liechtenauers Langschwertlehre bekannt. Die sogenannte Goliath-Handschrift (Ms. Germ. Quart. 2020, Krakau von ca. 1510–1520) bietet ebenfalls Abbildungen, nämlich 38 im Langschwertteil. Das Glasgower Manuskript bietet zwar lediglich 31, jedoch fehlen leider die ersten Blätter, auf denen erwartungs- und erfahrungsgemäß die Techniken zum Zorn- und zum Krumphau behandelt worden wären. Die zwei Illustrationsblöcke sind von deutlich unterschiedlicher Qualität: Der Teil zum langen Schwert ist farbenfroh aber recht roh gehalte, die Ringtechniken sind anatomisch detaillierter wiedergegeben, jedoch – bis auf zwei Ausnahmen – lediglich in Gelb- und Rottönen. Rainer Leng identifiziert insgesamt sechs Zeichner.

Die Transkription

Die Transkription orientiert sich so getreu wie möglich am Original. Der Buchstabe »v« wird nicht in »u« oder »v« aufgelöst. Abbreviaturen, Verdoppelungs- oder andere Sonderzeichen oberhalb eines Buchstabens bleiben (im Rahmen der eingeschränkten typographischen Möglichkeiten des Internets) weitgehend erhalten. Häufige Zeichen über »u« oder »w« um sie vom ähnlichen »n« zu unterscheiden oder den vokalischen Einsatz anzuzeigen, bleiben in der Regel unberücksichtigt, gelegentlich aber sind die Unterschiede zu anderen Auszeichnungen subtil.

Durch Bindung oder Beschnitt sind gelegentlich kleinere Fehlstellen entstanden, die ich nach Möglichkeit in eckigen Klammern ergänzt habe.

Ich bin Jeffrey Hull zu außerordentlichem Dank verpflichtet, denn ohne seine unschätzbare Hilfe und Unterstützung wäre diese Arbeit nicht möglich gewesen. Vielen herzlichen Dank.

Quelle

Rainer Leng (Bearbeiter): Katalog der deutschsprachigen illustrierten Handschriften des Mittelalters, Band 4/2, Lieferung 1/2 – 38. Fecht- und Ringbücher. C. H. Beck’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, 2008

Dierk Hagedorn, Juli 2009

Johannes Liechtenauer / Sigmund Emring
Langes Schwert

Langes Schwert: weitere Stücke

Martin Siber
Langes Schwert

Messerfechten

Andere Meister
Gefechte

Ringen

Andre Lignitzer (?)
Ringen

Jude Ott
Ringen

Johannes Liechtenauer
Roßfechten

Johannes Liechtenauer
Kampffechten

Martin Huntfelt (?)
Dolch

Dolch

Martin Huntfelt
Harnischkampf

Andre Lignitzer
Buckler