Transcriptions | Johannes Lecküchner | Four Guards

« back to survey page

33 r

 

Be reminded of the four guards,
if you want to win fencing with the Messer.
Pastei and Luginsland,
Stier and Eber shall be known to you.

After the Master has explained the six strikes as main chapters, he now speaks of the seventh chapter, the first main piece of which is the four guards. Those you shall hold and fence from artfully.
The first guard or stance is named Pastei. Hold it like this. Set your right foot in front and hold your Messer with an outstretched arm in front of you with the point towards the earth and the back edge facing up.

top

33 v

 

The second guard or stance is the Luginsland. Hold it like this. Set your right foot in front and hold your Messer with an outstretched arm high in front of your head, letting the true or sharp edge face the man as pictured where a hand is drawn.
Hold the Eber like this: Set your left foot in front and hold you Messer at your right leg with the cross at your hip on your right side with the back edge facing up and the point directed at the face of the man.
You shall know the Eber on the other side as well. This is how you do it. Hold your Messer at your left side near your hip with the true edge facing up, the handle lowered a bit towards the earth and the point directed upwards at the face of the man as pictured below.

top

34 r

 

The fourth guard is called Stier. Hold it like this. Stand with your left foot in front and hold your Messer to your right [original text: “left”] side in front of your head, letting the back edge face you and the point towards the face.
Stand in the Stier on the other side as pictured below.

top

« back to survey page

Transkriptionen | Johannes Lecküchner | Vier Leger

« zurück zur Übersicht

33 r

 

Der vier Läger sollst du dich entsinnen, willst du das Messerfechten gewinnen.
Pastei und Luginsland, Stier und Eber seien dir bekannt.

Nachdem nun der Meister die Haue und ersten sechs Kapitel beschrieben hat, spricht er hier vom siebten Kapitel und Hauptstück, zum ersten der vier Läger im Messer, die man einnehmen und sich mit rechter Kunst daraus weren soll.
Das erste Lager oder die erste Hut heißt Pastei. So nimmst du sie ein. Setz deinen rechten Fuß vor und halt dein Messer mit ausgestrecktem Arm vor dich mit dem Ort zur Erde, so dass die kurze Schneide oben steht.

top

33 v

 

Die zweite hut oder das zweite Lager ist der Luginsland. So nimmst du sie ein. Setz deinen rechten Fuß vor und halt dein Messer mit ausgestrecktem Arm hoch vor deinen Kopf, so dass die lange oder scharfe Schneide auf den Mann gerichtet ist, so wie dort abgebildet ist, wo du eine Hand gemalt siehst.
Begib dich so in den Eber: Setz deinen linken Fuß vor und halt dein Messer an deinem rechten Bein mit dem Gehilz auf der rechten Seite neben der Hüfte, so dass die stumpfe Schneide oben steht und der Ort vor dir zum Gesicht des Mannes zeigt.
Du sollst den Eber auch auf der linken Seite ausführen. So nimmst du die Hut ein: Halt dein Messer an deiner linken Seite neben die Hüfte, wobei die lange Schneide nach oben gewandt sei, das Gehilz sie ein wenig zur Erde gesenkt und der Ort zeige aufwärts dem Mann zum Gesicht, so wie unten abgebildet.

top

34 r

 

Die vierte Hut heißt Stier. So nimmst du sie ein. Stehe mit deinem linken Fuß vor und halt dein Messer zu der linken Seite mit dem Gehilz vor deinem Kopf, so dass die kurze Schneide zu dir zeigt und der Ort zum Gesicht.
Begib dich in den Stier auf der anderen Seite so, wie unten abgebildet ist.

top

« zurück zur Übersicht