Transcriptions | Joachim Meyer, Rostock

Introduction

Late in 2014, the Universitätsbibliothek Rostock published the digitized colour scans of Mss. var. 82, an important manuscript by the hand of fencing master Joachim Meyer (ca. 1537–1571). He was among those pioneers that were the first to ever publish a fencing manual in print. The first edition of his magnum opus “GrĂĽndtliche Beschreibung der Kunst des Fechtens” (Thorough Description of the Art of Fencing) was published in 1570. Before—with very few exceptions—fencing knowledge was passed on in the form of handwritten manuscripts. Nevertheless Joachim Meyer produced two manuscripts himself: One voluptuous, representative volume with numerous full-page colour images around 1560 (MS A.4Âş.2, currently held in Lunds Universitets Bibliotek in Lund, Sweden), and another one—the one present here—that seems to have served as his personal exemplar, copied from various sources in 1570.
Apart from the last section, which is Meyer’s very own take on how to fence with the rapier, this manuscript is another specimen of those vast compendia that consist of numerous fighting techniques by various masters: We encounter unarmoured fencing with the sword as well as in armour; there’s wrestling and fighting on horseback; and also dagger plays and techniques for sword and buckler are depicted.
One of the most intriguing aspects are master Johannes Liechtenauer’s teachings with the sword that can be found twice: Once in an edition (so to speak) of Sigmund Einring (also erroneously known as Ringeck), and once in a version that is similar to the one from the so-called Jude Lew manuscript (Cod. I 6 4o 3, Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg) or that from the so-called Hans von Speyer codex (M.I.29, Universitätsbibliothe Salzburg). The former is furthermore most interesting since quite frequently the text says: “als hie gemalt stet” (as it is painted here).
All this suggests that Meyer copied from various sources—one of them obviously (or possibly) illustrated. His copy however does not contain any such images.
Meyer’s Einring version is a rather abridged one, particularly in comparison to the famous so-called Ringeck manuscript from the Sächsische Landesbibliothek Dresden (Mscr. Dresd. C 487). Major portions of the corpus are missing.
The version that is similar to the Jude Lew manuscript is much more complete, and in fact this similarity goes beyond when we look at the following sections that seem to be a verbatim copy of other sections from Lew, including armoured combat by an anonymous author and by Mertein Huntzfeltz (which is attributed to Andre Lignitzer in the manuscript 44A8, Biblioteca dell’Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei e Corsiniana, Rome).
Apart from that, Meyer seems to have copied rather randomly what he could lay his hands on like for instance very brief excerpts from Liechtenauer’s wrestling in armour that are stacked completely out of context between Huntzfeltz’ armoured combat and some notes on fighting on horseback on fol. 74v/75r.
Another section about the dagger, fol. 76r–86r, is interesting insiofar as it shows no particular resemblance to any other master we are currently aware of—and it addresses the student in the second person singular and plural, thus differing from any other source.
Possibly Joachim Meyer was a bit absent-minded when we look at fol. 94v/95r and 96r/v which present exactly the same text about wrestling on horseback twice.
Particularly interesting is the name of a fencing master called Pegnitzer that appears on fol. 94r. His teachings do not appear in any other fencing manual but his name is nevertheless familiar to us on account of his membership to the “Gesellschaft Liechtenauers” (Liechtenauer’s society), as listed by fencing master Pauls Kal in his manuscripts (Ms. 1825, University Library Bologna; Cgm 1507, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek Munich; KK 5126, Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna).

The entire volume seems to have been written by one hand, quite likely Joachim Meyer’s own, although the two last sections differ in style. Both parts deal with the rapier: The first one seems to be an adaptation of the messer to be compatible to the new weapon that became modern at the time. It is written in a more stately, less fluent and cursive style than the rest of the manuscript. The handwriting however deteriorates considerably on the last pages as if it was done in a hurry or by an increasingly ill person. Nevertheless, this section is frequently annotated in the very same style of handwriting that is responsible for the bulk of the manuscript.
The last section shows yet another style in writing. It also describes the rapier and is of Meyer’s own invention which he has composed of various sources as he states on the preface page on fol. 123r, which also bears the date 1570.
It may be possible however, that the major part was written somewhat earlier. When we compare the style of writing to the second manuscript that has survived from Joachim Meyer’s hand, the one from Lund which is dated to the 1560s, we notice a stunning similarity.
The largest part of the manuscript, from fol. 6–110, is written in one homogenous and clear hand, with only very few deletions or corrections. Occasionally, there’s a marginal note, mostly in Liechtenauer’s horsefighting, where the text is segmented by horizontal lines with the words “end” and “anfang” (beginning) next to them. Some portions of the text are crossed out. Whether this indicates that the manuscript served as a blueprint for another volume and edited sections were marked in that way is only an assumption that cannot be ascertained.

The transcription follows the text as closely as possible. The specialties of capitalisation are maintained, but it was not always clear whether a single glyph was meant to be upper or lower case. When in doubt, lowercase was preferred, except in the beginning of a sentence.
Since the letters “n” and “u” look almost identical in handwriting, the scribe used a demicircle above the “u” for differentiation. This symbol is not maintained here since the modern typeface used makes the difference quite clear.
The vocal letter “y” is written as an umlaut througout the manuscript. The dots are omitted here, and “Ăż” appears as “y”.
The ligature for “sch” is written in a condensed form so that the “c” between “s” and “h” is hardly noticable—if at all.  Nevertheless, the transcription writes “sch”.
Another combination that frequently appears in the transcription is “tz”. It was not always clear whether the scribe intended to write “cz” or “tz”. When in doubt, I opted for “tz”.
Other abbreviations, such as “áş˝”, mostly indicating a missing final “n”, have not been resolved in order to keep as much character of the original text intact as possible.
The text is structured by commas and full stops. It was not always possible to determine whether a spot omn the page was meant to be a comma, a full stop—or whether it was just that: a spot.
The manuscript has not preserved its original size, the pages have been cut at the outer margins, resulting in an occasional slight loss of text material. Additions to the text that I made in an attempt to restore the original are set in square brackets [].
The foliation of the transcription follows the modern one in pencil, that is written in the centre at the bottom of each recto page. Another, older foliation at the top right corner of these pages is partially or even completely lost due to the clipping the manuscript had to suffer from. This old, possibly contemporary foliation is lesser by four than the current one in the beginning, or by three (around fol. 83), or by two (from about fol. 107 onwards).

 

Dierk Hagedorn, 24th February 2015
(Joachim Meyer’s 444th day of death)

Graphs/Rules

Longsword Einring

Longsword Liechtenauer

Longsword Siber

Horse Fencing Liechtenauer

Harness Fencing Lew

Holding Down/Getting Up

Harness Fencing Huntzfeltz

Harness Fencing Liechtenauer

Horse Fencing

Dagger

Sword

Dagger

Harness Fencing

Wrestling on the Horse

Wrestling with the Sword

Wrestling on the Horse

Sword/Buckler

Harness Fencing Liechtenauer

Index Horse Fencing

Rapier

Rapier

Transkriptionen | Joachim Meyer, Rostock

Einleitung

Ende des Jahres 2014 hat die Universitätsbibliothek Rostock die digitalisierten Farbscans des Mss. var. 82 veröffentlicht, eines wichtigen Manuskripts aus der Hand des Fechtmeisters Joachim Meyer (ca. 1537–1571). Er hat Pionierarbeit geleistet, indem er unter den ersten war, die eine Fechtanleitung in gedruckter Form herausgebracht haben. Die erste Ausgabe seines Opus magnum »Gründtliche Beschreibung der Kunst des Fechtens« erschien 1570. Zuvor wurde fechterisches Wissen in Form von handgeschriebenen Manuskripten weitergegeben, von ganz wenigen Ausnahmen einmal abgesehen. Gleichwohl hat Joachim Meyer selbst zwei Manuskripte hergestellt: Ein üppiges, repräsentatives Buch mit zahlreichen ganzseitigen Farbillustrationen um 1560 (MS A.4º.2, gegenwärtig verwahrt in Lunds Universitets Bibliotek in Lund, Schweden) und ein weiteres, das hier vorliegende, das als sein persönliches Exemplar gelten mag, welches er aus unterschiedlichen Quellen um 1570 erstellt hat.
Vom letzten Teil abgesehen, der Meyers eigenen Ansatz in der Fechtkunst mit dem Rapier darstellt, ist diese Handschrift ein weiteres Beispiel jener umfangreichen Zusammenstellungen, die aus verschiendenen Techniken verschiedener Meister bestehen: Wir finden BloĂźfechten mit dem Schwert ebenso wie den geharnischten Kampf; es gibt Ringen und Rossfechten; und auch DolchstĂĽcke und Techniken mit Schwert und Buckler werden beschrieben.
Einen der faszinierendsten Aspekte stellen Meister Johannes Liechtenauers Lehren mit dem Schwert dar, die gleich zweimal vorkommen: Einmal in der Bearbeitung (wenn man so will) von Sigmung Einring (auch irrtümlich als Ringeck bekannt), und einmal in einer Version, die der des sogenannten Jude-Lew-Manuskripts (Cod. I 6 4o 3, Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg) oder des sogenannten Hans-von-Speyer-Codex (M.I.29, Universitätsbibliothe Salzburg) ähnelt. Erstere ist weiterhin höchst interessant, da es im Text häufig heißt: »als hie gemalt stet.«
All dies deutet darauf hin, dass Meyer aus unterschiedlichen Quellen kopiert hat – und eine davon war offenbar (oder vermutlich) illustriert. Sein Werk jedoch enthält keinerlei Abbildungen.
Meyers Einring-Version ist eine gekürzte; insbesondere im Vergleich mit dem berühmten sogenannten Ringeck-Manuskript der Sächsischen Landesbibliothek Dresden (Mscr. Dresd. C 487) fehlen größere Teile.
Die Fassung, die dem Jude-Lew-Manuskript ähnelt, ist deutlich vollständiger, und tatsächlich setzt sich diese Ähnlichkeit auch in folgenden Abschnitten fort, die eine teilweise wortgetreue Kopie der Lew-Handschrift sind, darunter das Kampffechten im Harnisch eines anonymen Autors und dasjenige von Mertein Huntzfeltz (Andre Lignitzer zugeschrieben im Codex 44A8, Biblioteca dell’Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei e Corsiniana, Rom).
Davon abgesehen scheint Meyer recht wahllos kopiert zu haben was auch immer in seine Hände gelangte, wie etwa kurze Ausschnitte von Liechtenauers Ringen im Harnisch, welches auf fol. 74v/75r außerhalb jeglichen Kontextes zwischen Huntzfeltz’ Kampf in der Rüstung und Anleitungen zum Rossfechten eingezwängt ist
Ein weiterer Abschnitt über den Dolch auf fol. 76r–86r ist insofern interessant, als er keine ausgeprägte Ähnlichkeit mit den Lehren irgend eines anderen Meisters hat, von dem wir gegenwärtig Kenntnis haben. Weiterhin wird der Schüler dort sowohl in der zweiten Person  Singular als auch Plural angesprochen, was es so in keiner anderen Quelle gibt.
Möglicherweise war Joachim Meyer etwas geistesabwesend, denn wenn wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit auf fol. 94v/95r und 96r/v richten, findet sich dort zwei Mal exakt derselbe Text über das Ringen zu Pferd.
Von besonderem Interesse ist der Name des Fechtmeisters Pegnitzer, der auf fol. 94r erscheint. Dessen Lehren tauchen in keinem anderen Fechtbuch auf, dennoch ist uns sein Name durch die »Gesellschaft Liechtenauers« geläufig, die der Fechtmeister Paulus Kal in seinen Handschriften auflistet (Ms. 1825, Universitätsbibliothek Bologna; Cgm 1507, Bayerische Staatsbibliothek München; KK 5126, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien).

Der gesamte Band scheint von einer Hand geschrieben zu sein, möglicherweise Joachim Meyers eigener, obschon die beiden letzten Abschnitte sich im Stil unterscheiden. Beide Teile behandeln das Rapier: Der erste scheint eine Adaption des langen Messers zu sein, um sie an die neue Waffe anzupassen, die zu der Zeit in Mode kam. Er ist in einem strengeren, weniger fließenden und kursiven Stil geschrieben als der Rest des Manuskript. Die Handschrift verschlechtert sich jedoch auf den letzten Seiten beachtlich, als ob sie in Eile oder von einer von Krankheit gezeichneten Person verfasst wurde. Dieser Abschnitt ist jedoch an vielen Stellen mit Anmerkungen versehen, die im gleichen Duktus gehalten sind, der den Großteil des Manuskripts ausmacht.
Der letzte Teil zeigt wiederum einen anderen Schreibstil. Er behandelt ebenfalls das Rapier und stellt Meyers eigene Erfindung dar, die er aus zahlreichen Quellen zusammengestellt hat, die er auf der Vorwortseite auf fol. 123r nennt, wo auch das Datum 1570 verzeichnet ist.
Es ist durchaus möglich, dass der Hauptteil einige Zeit früher notiert worden ist. Wenn wir den Schreibstil mit dem zweiten Manuskript aus Lund vergleichen, das von Meyers Hand überliefert ist und welches auf die Zeit um 1560 datiert wird, stellen wir eine beachtliche Ähnlichkeit fest.
Der Großteil des Manuskripts, von fol. 6 bis 110, stammt von einer klaren und einheitlichen Hand, die nur wenige Streichungen oder Korrekturen zeigt. Gelegentlich kommt eine Marginalie vor, am häufigsten bei Liechtenauers Rossfechten, wo der Text überdies von horizontalen Linien geteilt wird, mit den Wörtern »end« und »anfang« daneben. Einige Textstellen sind durchgestrichen. Ob dies bedeutet, dass das Manuskript als Vorlage  für einen anderen Band diente und die bearbeiteten Passagen auf diese Weise markiert wurden, ist lediglich eine nicht nachprüfbare Vermutung.

Die Transkription folgt dem Text so genau wie möglich. Die Eigentümlichkeiten der Großschreibung wurden größtenteils beibehalten, es war jedoch nicht immer klar, ob ein einzelnes Zeichen als groß oder klein geschrieben gedacht war. Im Zweifelsfall wurde Kleinschreibung bevorzugt, von Satzanfängen abgesehen.
Da die Buchstaben »n« und »u« im Schriftbild nahezu identisch aussehen, hat der Schreiber zur Unterscheidung einen Halbkreis über das »u« gesetzt. Dieses Zeichen wurde nicht beibehalten, da der moderne Schriftsatz den Unterschied ausreichend deutlich macht.
Das vokalische »y« wird im gesamten Manuskript in Umlautform geschrieben. Dies wird hier nicht beibehalten, und »ÿ« wird als »y« wiedergegeben.
Die »sch«-Ligatur wird in einer komprimierten Form geschrieben, so dass das »c« zwischen »s« und »h« kaum wahrnehmbar ist – wenn überhaupt. Gleichwohl wird als »sch« transkribiert.
Eine weitere Buchstabenkombination, die häufig in der Transkription auftaucht, ist »tz«. Es war nicht immer ganz klar, ob der Schreiber »cz« oder »tz« meinte; im Zweifelsfall habe ich mich für »tz« entschieden.
Andere Abkürzungen, wie z.B. »ẽ«, zeigen meist ein fehlendes abschließendes »n« an und wurden nicht aufgelöst, um den Charakter des Originaltextes möglichst unbeeinflusst zu lassen.
Der Text wird durch Kammata und Punkte gegliedert. Es war jedoch nicht immer möglich zu entscheiden, ob ein Fleck auf der Seite ein Komma, einen Punkt oder eben nur einen Fleck darstellt.
Das Manuskript ist nicht im Originalformat erhalten, die Seiten sind an den Rändern beschnitten worden, was zu geringen Textverlusten geführt hat. Ergänzungen, die sich bemühen, den Originalwortlaut wider herzustellen, sind in eckige Klammern [] gesetzt.
Die Foliierung der Transkription folgt der modernen Bleistiftfassung, die sich mittig am unteren Rand der Rectoseiten befindet. Eine weitere, ältere Foliierung steht in der oberen rechten Ecke dieser Seiten und ist leider wegen Seitenbeschnitts kaum oder gar nicht mehr erkennbar. Diese alte Zählung stammt möglicherweise aus der Entstehungszeit der Handschrift und ist zu Beginn um vier geringer als die moderne, später um drei (um fol 83) oder um zwei (etwa ab fol. 107).

Dierk Hagedorn, 24. Februar 2015
(Joachim Meyers 444. Todestag)

Diagramme/Regeln

Langes Schwert Einring

Langes Schwert Liechtenauer

Langes Schwert Siber

Rossfechten Liechtenauer

Harnischkampf Lew

Unterhalten/Aufstehen

Harnischkampf Huntzfeltz

Harnischkampf Liechtenauer

Rossfechten

Dolch

Schwert

Dolch

Harnischkampf

Ringen zu Pferd

Ringen im Schwert

Ringen zu Pferd

Schwert/Buckler

Harnischkampf Liechtenauer

Register Rossfechten

Rapier

Rapier