Transcriptions | »Codex Wallerstein«

Annotations

 

The illustrated fechtbuch (fencing book) known as “Codex Wallerstein” Cod.I.6.4o.2 in the possession of the Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg formerly belonged to the famous collector of manuscripts, Paulus Hector Mair. It was possibly he who was responsible for binding the individual parts of the codex into one single volume although they were produced half a century apart. The first part dates to roughly 1470, the second to 1420.

Like it was commonly the case with fechtbücher, the first part consists of various sections.The text was written down by only one single scribe, the illustrations on the other hand were executed by two artists. When the manuscript was rebound, several leaves got mixed up and so the section about the longsword is interrupted by wrestling techniques which in turn are also not presented cosecutively but are continued after the techniques with the messer

The second part, the older one, shows also a variety of fighting disciplines but no text at all. Interestingly, some harness fencing techniques are directly related to corresponding images in the manuscripts of the so-called Gladiatoria group which they precede by a number of years.

Dierk Hagedorn, August 2014

Part I

Longsword 1

Wrestling 1

Longsword 2

Dagger

Messer

Wrestling 2

Part II

Longsword

Harness Fencing

Shield and Sword (Swabian Law)

Shield and Club (Franconian Law)

Wrestling

Transkriptionen | »Codex Wallerstein«

Anmerkungen

 

Die als »Codex Wallerstein« bekannte bebilderte Fechthandschrift Cod.I.6.4o.2 der Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg gehörte früher dem berühmten Handschriftensammler Paulus Hector Mair. Möglicherweise war er es, der die einzelnen Teile der Handschrift, deren Entstehungszeit z.T. etwa ein halbes Jahrhundert auseinander liegt, in einem Einband vereinigt hat. Der erste Teil datiert auf etwa 1470, der zweite Tei auf etwa 1420.

Der erste Teil besteht, wie bei Fechtbüchern üblich, aus mehreren Abschnitten, deren Text von nur einem Schreiber notiert worden sind. Gleichwohl finden sich die Illustrationen zweier Künstler. Beim Binden der Handschrift sind einige Blätter durcheinander geraten, so dass der Abschnitt des langen Schwerts von Anweisungen zum Ringen unterbrochen wird, welches aber auch nicht durchgängig dargestellt wird, sondern eine Fortsetzung nach den Messertechniken findet.

Der zweite, ältere Teil der Handschrift enthält ebenfalls Darstellungen unterschiedlicher Kampf-Disziplinen, jedoch keinerlei Text. Interessant ist, dass zahlreiche Techniken des Kampffechtens eine direkte Entsprechung zu den Manuskripten der sogenannten Gladiatoria-Gruppe haben, zeitlich jedoch vor diesen liegen.

Dierk Hagedorn, August 2014

Teil I

Langes Schwert 1

Ringen 1

Langes Schwert 2

Dolch

Messer

Ringen 2

Teil II

Langes Schwert

Kampffechten

Schild und Schwert nach schwäbischem Recht

Schild und Kolben nach fränkischem Recht

Ringen