Transcriptions | Jörg Wilhalm & Lienhart Sollinger

Annotations

This is the transcription of a partially illustrated manuscript from the Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg with the number Cod. I.6.2°2. It consists of two parts: The first one from 1523 was written by Jörg Wilhalm, the second from 1564 by Lienhart Sollinger. Due to copyright restraints, I cannot show the according images, therefore this is a text-only version.

The manuscript

The first part of the manuscript by Jörg Wilhalm is divided into three segments. The first one is illustrated and contains descriptive captions. Quite often, both of the shown fencers have their own text. Curiously, it frequently says "als du es vnden gmaltt sichst" (as you see painted below) although the illustrations are uniformly always above the text. The two following segments without illustrations feature the teachings of master Johannes Liechtenauer, partially in the same form as it is known from other manuscripts (e.g. 44 A 8 – Peter von Danzig, 3227a, Sigmund Ringeck, Hans von Speyer), and partially with altered verses and different commentaries.

The second part consists of the fechtbuch by Lienhart Sollinger, and it is widely identical to Paurenfeindt's print from 1516 (s.a. Rainer Leng, p. 80). This part has been bound together with the earlier Wilhalm parts at a later date. Obviously, the sequence of some leaves got mixed up in the process: Fol. 41 is located after fol. 15, and foll. 70–72 can be found after fol. 48. The re-binding might have been initiated by Paulus Hector Mair who mentions himself twice as the owner. Since these remarks are on foll. 2r and 41v, therefore in the Wilhalm part, we can assume – according to Hans-Peter Hils – that the current state of the codex only came to pass at a later date while binding it (Hils, p. 50).
Additionally, the manuscript contains a leaf erroneously foliated as 70 after fol. 69 as well as 40 empty and unnumbered intermediate leaves (Leng, p. 79 f).

Jörg Wilhalm

The Augsburg codex is very similar to quite some extent to manuscript Cgm 3711 of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Munich. The latter however is far more substantial and contains also parts about fighting in harness and on horseback. The illustrations in both of the manuscripts are of high quality and are very much alike according to the stances of the fighters. Only the figures in the manuscript from Munich wear more fanciful or even grotesque costumes. The order of techniques does not correspond the Augsburg manuscript, some leaves were verifiably bound in the wrong order: fol. 41 (see above) is in the incorrect position, and foll. 47 and 48 have been transposed. I have corrected these two; any other deviation I have left untouched.

Cod. I.6.2°2 (Augsburg)

Cgm 3711 (Munich)

  1v – 2v
2r 5r
2v 5v
3r 4r
3v 4v
4r 6r
4v 7v
5r 6v
5v 7r
6r 3r
6v 3v
7r 13r
7v 13v
8r 11r
8v 11v
9r 14r
9v 14v
10r 15r
10v 15v
11r 16r
11v 16v
12r 17r
12v 17v
13r 40r
13v 40v
14r 12r
14v 12v
15r 41r
15v 41v
16r 20r
16v 20v
17r 21r
17v 21v
18r 18r
18v 18v
19r 19r
19v 19v
20r 36r
20v 36v
21r 37r
21v 37v
22r 38r
22v 38v
23r 39r
23v 39v
24r 22r
24v 22v
25r 23r
25v 24v
26r 23v
26v 24r
27r 33r
27v 33v
28r 34r
28v 34v
29r 35r
29v 35v
30r 25r
30v 25v
31r 26r
31v 26v
32r 27r
32v 27v
33r 28r
33v 28v
34r 29r
34v 29v
35r 30r
35v 30v
36r 31r
36v 31v
37r 32r
37v 32v
38r 8r
38v 8v
39r 9r
39v 9v
40r 10r
40v 10v
41r 42r
42r 43r/v
42v 43v/44r
43r 44r/v
43v 44v/45r
44r 45r
44v 45v/46r
45r 46r/v
45v 46v/47r
46r 47r/v
46v 47v/48r
47r 49v/50r
47v 50r/v
48r 48v
48v 49r
49r 50v/51r

 

Lienhart Sollinger

As for the shifts and switches in the Sollinger part, I have also refrained from corrections. The alterations were partly only quite minute and partly rather considerable so that I found it impossible to guess the original arrangement. In order to compare Paurenfeindt's printed version with Sollinger's manuscript, I have made use of the Glasgow print (E.1939.65.357). Since it did not provide me with neither pagination nor foliation, I made one up myself, starting with the first printed page. A commentary in the manuscript itself (before fol. 50r) claims the copy to be incomplete. Indeed foll. 10r, 23v und 24r of the print are missing in the manuscript. However, it contains an additional six pages (foll. 67r – 69v) that are absent from the print. The corresponding illustrations show a distinctive different character. Indeed these images correspond to the drawings on fol. 30v, 54r/v, 55v, and 73r from Ms. Germ. Quart. 202 from Cracow, the so-called “Goliath”. Thanks to Michael Chidester for pointing this out to me. Usually, the illustrations in the manuscript match the woodcuts from the print to a very high degree. These printed illustrations are always on the left hand side. In a comparing listing the following differences appear between Paurenfeindt's print and Sollinger's manuscript:

Paurenfeindt 1516

Sollinger 1564

Dedication

1r (illustration and text) 50r
1v (more extensivetext) 50r

Twelve Rules

2r (text) 71v

Longsword

2v (illustration) 50v
3r (text) 50v/51r
3v (illustration) 51r
4r (text) 51r/v
4v (illustration) 51v
5r (text) 51v/52r
5v (illustration) 52r
6r (text) 52v
6v (illustration) 52v
7r (text) 53r/v
7v (illustration) 53r
8r (text) 53v
8v (illustration) 53v
9r (text) 64r
9v (illustration) 64r
10r (text)
10v (illustration) 65v
11r (text) 65r
11v (illustration) 65r
12r (text) 64v
12v (illustration) 64v
13r (text) 65r/v
13v (illustration) 66r
14r (text) 65v/66r
14v (illustration) 66v
15r (text) 66v
15v (illustration) 60r
16r (text) 60r
16v (illustration) 60v
17r (text) 60v
17v (illustration) 61r
18r (text) 61r
18v (illustration) 61v
19r (text) 61v
19v (illustration) 62r
20r (text) 62r
20v (illustration) 72r

Halfsword

21r (text) 72r
21v (illustration) 62v
22r (text) 62v
22v (illustration) 63r
23r (text) 63r
23v (illustration)
24r (text)
24v (illustration) 63v
25r (text) 63v

Dussack

25v (illustration) 54r
26r (text) 54r
26v (illustration) 54v
27r (text) 54v
27v (illustration) 55r
28r (text) 55r
28v (illustration) 55v
29r (text) 55v
29v (illustration) 56r
30r (text) 56r
30v (illustration) 56v
31r (text) 56v
31v (illustration) 57r
32r (text) 57r
32v (illustration) 57v
33r (text) 57v

Staff

33v (illustration) 58r
34r (text) 58r/v
34v (illustration) 58v
35r (text) 58v
35v (illustration) 59r
36r (text) 59r
36v (illustration) 59v
37r (text) 59v
37v (text) 70r

Dagger (following Andre Lignitzer)

38r (text) 70r
38v (text) 70r/v

Sword And Buckler (following Andre Lignitzer)

39r (text) 70v
39v (text) 71r
40r (text) 71r

Longsword

  67r – 69v

 

The Transcription

The transcription follows the original as closely as possible. I have not dissolved the letter "v" in either "u" or "v". In comparison to other manuscripts, this one contains only very few special characters, e.g. above the letters u or w. I have refrained from displaying these.
In a number of places words are rendered only incomplete, sometimes in the digital data I worked from, and sometimes already in the original in which some parts were lost or have become illegible because of cropping or the bookbinding process.

Due to bookbinding and cropping processes some minor parts of the text are missing. I have tried to fill in these gaps as good as possible in square brackets.

I am profoundly indebted to Anton Kohutovic. Without his substantial help and support this project would not have been possible. Thank you very much.

Sources

Hans-Peter Hils: Meister Johann Liechtenauers Kunst des langen Schwertes.
Rainer Leng (Compiler): Katalog der deutschsprachigen illustrierten Handschriften des Mittelalters, Band 4/2, Lieferung 1/2 – 38. Fecht- und Ringbücher. C. H. Beck’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, 2008

Dierk Hagedorn, September 2009

Jörg Wilhalm
Longsword
(with illustrations)

Johannes Liechtenauer/
Jörg Wilhalm
Longsword
(without illustrations)

Johannes Liechtenauer/
Jörg Wilhalm
Longsword
(without illustrations)

Lienhart Sollinger
Ritterliche Kunst der Fechterei
(with illustrations)

Transkriptionen | Jörg Wilhalm & Lienhart Sollinger

Anmerkungen

Dies ist die Transkription des teilweise illustrierten Manuskripts mit der Bezeichnung Cod. I.6.2°2 der Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg. Es besteht aus zwei Teilen: Der erste aus dem Jahr 1523 stammt von Jörg Wilhalm, der zweite aus dem Jahr 1564 von Lienhart Sollinger. Aus urheberrechtlichen Gründen ist es mir bedauerlicherweise nicht möglich, den Texten die entsprechenden Abbildungen beizugeben. Deshalb finden sich hier lediglich die Texte.

Die Handschrift

Der erste Teil der Handschrift von der Hand Jörg Wilhalms gliedert sich in drei Abschnitte. Der erste ist illustriert und mit erläuternden Bildunterschriften versehen. Häufig haben die beiden abgebildeten Fechter jeweils eigene Beischriften. Kurioserweise heißt es im Text häufig »als du es vnden gmaltt sichst«, obwohl die Abbildungen sich stets oberhalb befinden. Die beiden folgenden Abschnitte ohne Abbildungen geben die Lehren Liechtenauers wieder, teilweise in der gleichen Form, wie sie aus den Handschriften 44 A 8 (Peter von Danzig), 3227a und den Manuskripten Sigmund Ringecks, Hans von Speyers usw. bekannt ist, teilweise aber mit sowohl veränderten Versen als auch unterschiedlichen Kommentaren.

Der zweite Teil besteht aus Lienhart Sollingers Fechtbuch, das weitgehend identisch mit dem Druck Paurenfeindts von 1516 ist (s.a. Rainer Leng, S. 80). Dieser Teil wurde zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt mit den früher entstandenen Abschnitten Wilhalms zusammengebunden. Hierbei sind offensichtlich mehrere Blätter durcheinandergeraten, so daß sich Blatt 41 fälschlich nach Blatt 15 und die Blätter 70–72 nach Blatt 48 befinden. Die Neubindung wurde möglicherweise von Paulus Hector Mair veranlaßt, der sich zweimal als Eigentümer nennt. Da sich Mairs Besitzvermerke allerdings nur auf fol. 2r und 41v befinden, also im Wilhalm-Teil, ist laut Hans-Peter Hils »anzunehmen, daß der heutige Bestand des Kodex erst zu einer späteren Zeit und beim Binden hergestellt wurde« (Hils, S. 50).
Überdies enthält die Handschrift nach Blatt 69 ein fälschlich als 70 foliiertes Blatt sowie 40 ungezählte leere Zwischenblätter (Leng, S. 79 f).

Jörg Wilhalm

Der Augsburger Codex gleicht in großen Teilen der Handschrift Cgm 3711 der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, München. Jene ist allerdings deutlich umfangreicher und enthält außerdem Harnischkampf und Roßfechten. Die Illustrationen sind in beiden Handschriften von hoher Qualität und gleichen sich in den Haltungen außerordentlich, lediglich einige der Kämpfer der Münchner Handschrift tragen fantasievollere und bisweilen groteske Kostüme. Die Reihenfolge der Techniken entspricht nicht dem Augsburger Manuskript. Einige Blätter sind nachweislich falsch eingefunden: fol. 41 (s.o.) steht an der verkehrten Position, und foll. 47 und 48 sind vertauscht. Dies habe ich korrigiert, alle anderen Abweichnungen habe ich belassen, wie sie sind:

Cod. I.6.2°2 (Augsburg)

Cgm 3711 (München)

  1v – 2v
2r 5r
2v 5v
3r 4r
3v 4v
4r 6r
4v 7v
5r 6v
5v 7r
6r 3r
6v 3v
7r 13r
7v 13v
8r 11r
8v 11v
9r 14r
9v 14v
10r 15r
10v 15v
11r 16r
11v 16v
12r 17r
12v 17v
13r 40r
13v 40v
14r 12r
14v 12v
15r 41r
15v 41v
16r 20r
16v 20v
17r 21r
17v 21v
18r 18r
18v 18v
19r 19r
19v 19v
20r 36r
20v 36v
21r 37r
21v 37v
22r 38r
22v 38v
23r 39r
23v 39v
24r 22r
24v 22v
25r 23r
25v 24v
26r 23v
26v 24r
27r 33r
27v 33v
28r 34r
28v 34v
29r 35r
29v 35v
30r 25r
30v 25v
31r 26r
31v 26v
32r 27r
32v 27v
33r 28r
33v 28v
34r 29r
34v 29v
35r 30r
35v 30v
36r 31r
36v 31v
37r 32r
37v 32v
38r 8r
38v 8v
39r 9r
39v 9v
40r 10r
40v 10v
41r 42r
42r 43r/v
42v 43v/44r
43r 44r/v
43v 44v/45r
44r 45r
44v 45v/46r
45r 46r/v
45v 46v/47r
46r 47r/v
46v 47v/48r
47r 49v/50r
47v 50r/v
48r 48v
48v 49r
49r 50v/51r

 

Lienhart Sollinger

Die Verschiebungen und Umstellungen im Sollinger-Teil habe ich ebenfalls nicht korrigiert, da sie z.T. geringfügig, z.T. erheblich von der Druckausgabe abweichen, so daß die ursprüngliche Anordnung nurmehr zu erraten wäre. Um die Druckfassung Paurenfeindts mit der Handschrift Sollingers vergleichen zu können, habe ich den Glasgower Druck (E.1939.65.357) herangezogen. Da er weder über Foliierung noch Paginierung verfügt, habe ich, beginnend mit der ersten Druckseite eine eigene Foliierung angefertigt. In einem Kommentar in der Handschrift selbst (vor fol. 50r) heißt es, daß die Kopie unvollständig sei. Tatsächlich fehlen foll. 10r, 23v und 24r des Drucks in der Handschrift. Im Gegenzug verfügt sie auf foll. 67r – 69v sechs zusätzliche Seiten, die nicht im Druck erschienen sind. Die zugehörigen Zeichnungen haben einen deutlich anderen Charakter. Tatsächlich entsprechen diese Abbildungen den kolorierten Zeichnungen auf fol. 30v, 54r/v, 55v und 73r aus dem Krakauer Ms. Germ. Quart. 2020, derm sogenannten »Goliath. Ich danke Michael Chidester für diesen Hinweis. Im allgemeinen entsprechen die Zeichnungen der Handschrift in extrem hohem Maße den Holzschnitten des Drucks. Diese gedruckten Illustrationen stehen stets ganzseitig auf den linken Seiten. In einer vergleichenden Aufstellung ergeben sich zwischen Paurenfeindts Druck und Sollingers Handschrift folgende Übereinstimmungen bzw. Abweichungen:

Paurenfeindt 1516

Sollinger 1564

Widmung

1r (Abbildung und Text) 50r
1v (ausführlicherer Text) 50r

Zwölf Regeln

2r 71v

Langes Schwert

2v 50v
3r 50v/51r
3v 51r
4r 51r/v
4v 51v
5r 51v/52r
5v 52r
6r 52v
6v 52v
7r 53r/v
7v 53r
8r 53v
8v 53v
9r 64r
9v 64r
10r
10v 65v
11r 65r
11v 65r
12r 64v
12v 64v
13r 65r/v
13v 66r
14r 65v/66r
14v 66v
15r 66v
15v 60r
16r 60r
16v 60v
17r 60v
17v 61r
18r 61r
18v 61v
19r 61v
19v 62r
20r 62r
20v 72r

Kurzes Schwert

21r 72r
21v 62v
22r 62v
22v 63r
23r 63r
23v
24r
24v 63v
25r 63v

Dussack

25v 54r
26r 54r
26v 54v
27r 54v
27v 55r
28r 55r
28v 55v
29r 55v
29v 56r
30r 56r
30v 56v
31r 56v
31v 57r
32r 57r
32v 57v
33r 57v

Stange

33v 58r
34r 58r/v
34v 58v
35r 58v
35v 59r
36r 59r
36v 59v
37r 59v
37v 70r

Dolch (nach Andre Lignitzer)

38r 70r
38v 70r/v

Schwert und Buckler (nach Andre Lignitzer)

39r 70v
39v 71r
40r 71r

Langes Schwert

  67r – 69v

 

Die Transkription

Die Transkription orientiert sich so getreu wie möglich am Original. Der Buchstabe »v« wird nicht in »u« oder »v« aufgelöst. Diese Handschrift enthält im Vergleich zu anderen nur eine begrenzte Anzahl diakritischer Zeichen, so z.B. bei den Buchstaben u oder w. Auf die Wiedergabe dieser Zeichen wurde hier verzichtet.
An zahlreichen Stellen sind Wörter unvollständig, zum Teil in der Vorlage, die mir zur Verfügung stand, zum größten Teil aber bereits im Original, in dem einiges durch Beschnitt oder Bindung verloren gegangen oder unleserlich geworden ist.

Durch Bindung oder Beschnitt sind gelegentlich kleinere Fehlstellen entstanden, die ich nach Möglichkeit in eckigen Klammern ergänzt habe.

Ich bin Anton Kohutovic zu außerordentlichem Dank verpflichtet, denn ohne seine unschätzbare Hilfe und Unterstützung wäre diese Arbeit nicht möglich gewesen. Vielen herzlichen Dank.

Quellen

Hans-Peter Hils: Meister Johann Liechtenauers Kunst des langen Schwertes.
Rainer Leng (Bearbeiter): Katalog der deutschsprachigen illustrierten Handschriften des Mittelalters, Band 4/2, Lieferung 1/2 – 38. Fecht- und Ringbücher. C. H. Beck’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung, 2008

Dierk Hagedorn, September 2009

Jörg Wilhalm
Langes Schwert
(mit Abbildungen)

Johannes Liechtenauer/
Jörg Wilhalm
Langes Schwert
(ohne Abbildungen)

Johannes Liechtenauer/
Jörg Wilhalm
Langes Schwert
(ohne Abbildungen)

Lienhart Sollinger
Ritterliche Kunst der Fechterei
(mit Abbildungen)