Homepage

Training

HammaborgThe group

Hammaborg – Historischer Schwertkampf was founded in Hamburg in 1999 and dedicates itself to reconstructing and training historical European martial arts. The sources we work with are transcriptions and facsimiles of German manuscripts from the 14th and 16th century: MS I.33 for instance, the oldest known fechtbuch (fightbook) of the world, as well as several manuscripts in the tradition of medieval masters such as Johannes Liechtenauer or Johannes Lecküchner.

Hammaborg concentrates on single combat with the one-handed sword and the buckler, the longsword and the langes messer. Applying the historical fencing techniques in a free sparring situation requires a thorough preoccupation with the historical sources and a minimum of physical fitness. With the aid of appropriate protective gear and training weapons we learn and study the motion sequences for the old duel situations. Everybody who is interested in joining us and wishes to participate in a trial session is very much welcome to get into contact with us.


Gladiatoria – New Haven

Dierk Hagedorn / Bartłomiej Walczak

Gladiatoria – New Haven · MS U860.F46 1450

 

Lost during World War II, partially retrieved, sold as individual parts at auction, scattered to the four winds, resurfaced in America: The Gladiatoria armored fencing manuscript from New Haven has experienced quite an eventful history.
This volume presents a full color reproduction of the earliest representative of the so-called Gladiatoria group—an exquisite exemplar of the highest artistic and historical value.
The accurate transcription, along with translations into modern German and English, make the Early New High German text from the beginning of the 15th century universally and easily accessible.
Anyone with a passion for medieval martial arts, weapons and armor will recognize this book as an indispensable treasure trove.
Here is a brief excerpt.

Dierk Hagedorn / Bartłomiej Walczak
Gladiatoria – New Haven · MS U860.F46 1450
VS Books
ISBN 978-3-932077-42-5

Size 16,3 x 23 cm, hardcover, 392 pages, 107 colour images, German/English edition, 44,80 EUR
Website of the publishers


More publications

Training Terms

Tuesday

19:00 h: Longsword

Wednesday

19:00 h: Sword & Buckler

Friday

18:30 h: Beginners: Sword, Messer, Polearms

Saturday

11:00 h: Longsword: Liechtenauer

Sunday

14:30 h: Longsword: Joachim Meyer

Startseite

Training

HammaborgDer Verein

Hammaborg ‚Äď Historischer Schwertkampf wurde 1999 in Hamburg gegr√ľndet und ist seit 2007 als gemeinn√ľtziger Verein organisiert. Wir widmen uns der Rekonstruktion und dem Training historischer europ√§ischer Kampfk√ľnste. Als Basis der Vereinsarbeit dienen Transkriptionen und Faksimiles von Fechtbüchern des 14. bis 16. Jahrhunderts, die den Umgang mit den zeitgenössischen Waffen in Duellsituationen detailliert beschreiben. Dazu gehören das MS I.33, das älteste bekannte Fechtbuch der Welt, sowie zahlreiche Manuskripte, die in der Tradition von mittelalterlichen Meistern wie Johannes Liechtenauer oder Johannes Lecküchner stehen.

Bei Hammaborg steht der Zweikampf mit einhändig geführtem Schwert und Buckler, dem langen Schwert und dem langen Messer im Mittelpunkt. Die Umsetzung der historischen Fechttechniken im freien Sparring erfordert eine eingehende Beschäftigung mit den historischen Quellen sowie ein Mindestmaß an körperlicher Fitness und Beweglichkeit. Mithilfe geeigneter Schutzausrüstung und Trainingswaffen werden die Bewegungsabläufe im Training erlernt und einstudiert. Wer Interesse an einem Probetraining hat, ist herzlich eingeladen, mit uns in Kontakt zu treten.


Gladiatoria ‚Äď New Haven

Dierk Hagedorn ¬∑ BartŇāomiej Walczak

Gladiatoria ‚Äď New Haven ¬∑ MS U860.F46 1450

 

Verloren im Zweiten Weltkrieg, teilweise wieder aufgefunden, in Einzelteilen versteigert, in alle Winde verstreut, in Amerika wieder aufgetaucht: Das Gladiatoria-Fechtbuch aus New Haven hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte erlebt.
Dieser Band bietet den farbigen Nachdruck des fr√ľhesten Vertreters der sogenannten Gladiatoria-Gruppe, eines auserlesenen Exemplars von h√∂chstem k√ľnstlerischen und historischen Wert.
Neben einer akkuraten Transkription stehen sowohl eine √úbersetzung in modernes Deutsch als auch in die englische Sprache, um den fr√ľhneuhochdeutschen Text vom Anfang des 15. Jahrhunderts allgemein und leicht zug√§nglich zu machen.
Wer sich f√ľr mittelalterliche Kampfk√ľnste, Waffen und R√ľstungen begeistert, wird in diesem Buch eine unverzichtbare Fundgrube sehen.
Hier gibt es einen kurzen Textauszug.

Gladiatoria ‚Äď New Haven ¬∑ MS U860.F46 1450
ISBN 978-3-932077-42-5

Format 16,3 x 23 cm, gebunden, 392 Seiten, 107 Farbabbildungen, deutsch/englische Ausgabe, 44,80 EUR
zur Website des Verlags


Weitere Publikationen

Trainingstermine

Dienstag

19:00 h: Langes Schwert

Mittwoch

19:00 h: Schwert & Buckler

Freitag

18:30 h: Einsteiger: Schwert, Messer, Stange

Samstag

11:00 h: Langes Schwert: Liechtenauer

Sonntag

14:30 h: Langes Schwert: Joachim Meyer